Southern Grampians Shire Council Logo
Skip Links

Transfer Station Locations & Opening Times

**Southern Grampians Shire Council has taken steps as a precautionary measure to help slow the spread of COVID-19 in our community, protect our staff, volunteers and visitors, and play our role in the national response to limiting transmissions.

As of 5.00pm Friday 20 March 2020 and for the foreseeable future Transfer Stations will be closed to the general public but will remain open to account holders and commercial operators. Anyone who is adversely impacted by this closure should contact Customer Service on 55730444 to discuss their circumstance.

Commercial operators or farmers who do not currently hold an account can fill in a temporary credit application here.
Mobile friendly version here.

Updated 31 March:

**The HAMILTON transfer station will now open SATURDAYS from 9:30-4:15. Limits will apply to the number of people inside the gate at any one time so please expect delays. ELECTRONIC PAYMENTS only will be accepted.

Council operates seven transfer stations, where our waste collection vehicles deposit their rubbish prior to loading into larger vehicles for transfer to the Hamilton landfill.

To find a transfer location near you, please see below:

Site Name Street Address Township Location
Balmoral 55 Hamilton-Natimuk Road Balmoral East side 50m south of Harrow-Balmoral Road
Branxholme 114 Branxholme-Byaduk Road Branxholme South side 1km east of Henty Highway. Past Charles Street
Cavendish 2478 Henty Highway Cavendish East side 1km south of Cavendish
Coleraine 44 Robertson Street Coleraine North east corner, Robertson St & Church St intersection
Dunkeld 7 Bellicourt Road Dunkeld West side 1.5km south of Recreation Street
Glenthompson Boundary Road Glenthompson Off Maroona-Glenthompson Road, 2km north Glenthompson
Hamilton TFS Elijah Street Hamilton West side 200m south of Henderson Street
Penshurst 5408 Hamilton Highway Penshurst North side 3km towards Caramut

You can also obtain a map of transfer stations at the Southern Grampians Shire Council office.

Transfer Station Opening Times
The transfer station hours of operation are as follows:

Location Opening Hours
Balmoral Tuesday 2.00pm-5.00pm | Thursday 2.00pm-5.00pm | Sunday 11.00am-5.00pm
Branxholme Tuesday & Sunday 8.00am-12noon
Cavendish Tuesday 1.00pm-5.00pm | Saturday 9.00am-1.00pm
Coleraine Wednesday & Sunday 1.00pm-5.00pm | Friday 7.00am-11.00am
Dunkeld Wednesday & Sunday 1.00pm-5.00pm
Glenthompson Wednesday & Sunday 8.00am-12.00noon
Hamilton Monday to Friday 8.00am-4.15pm | Saturday & Sunday 9.30am-4.15pm
Penshurst Thursday & Sunday 1.00pm-4.45pm

Public Holidays: All Transfer Stations and Landfill closed.
Extreme Fire Danger Rating (FDR): Hamilton open – all other Transfer Stations closed.
Code Red FDR: Transfer Stations and Hamilton Landfill closed.

Powered by